A beautiful, sparkly Halfpenny Real Wedding from The White Room, Sheffield

Rachel wore ‘Lydia’ by Halfpenny London, an exquisite, sequinned fabric design, over a hand cut silk slip. Sadly, no more, Halfpenny has brought out ‘Chloe’ for 2017 which will be with us soon! Here is Rachel’s White Room and Wedding story…

” The White Room was the first wedding dress boutique I had visited and the first time I had tried on a wedding dress. The Kate Halfpenny ‘Lydia’ was the second dress I had tried on and loved it – I loved how comfortable it was as how it sparkled as I moved with its thousands of tiny sequins. However, I had scheduled another appointment to try on dresses later that day. In order to avoid rushing into a decision I attended the second appointment. I think I had been spoilt by attending the White Room first and stepping into the second dress boutique I knew I was not going to find another dress that compared to how I felt in Lydia. Jess and myself ended up running back to the White Room with only half hour until closing to purchase the dress”

Bride and maids.jpg

“We had been engaged for 7 months before our wedding day. I think Ross was a bit shocked when I suggested getting married in July of 2016 as he thought we would have more time to plan and save for the wedding (he should have proposed sooner if he wanted a longer engagement as I wasn’t willing to wait until July 2017!). We married on the 22nd July 2016. We met In September of 2010 while both working for a security company in Cardiff, we became good friends and later running partners. It wasn’t until October of 2011 that we saw each other as more than friends and a little under 5 years later we wed in the city that we first met”.
before-church
boys
“We chose Cardiff City Hall for our wedding ceremony. I had always mentioned that I would like to get married there if Ross ever got around to proposing. So when he proposed outside the City Hall asking ‘this where you would like us to get married, isn’t it?’ forming the basis of his proposal, there was no other place in the running. We got married in the Council Chambers with 75 of our closest family and friends in attendance. The room was circular allowing our guests to surround us while saying our vows creating a very intimate atmosphere”.
ghost-bm
“I also purchased my bridesmaids dresses from the White Room after falling in love with the fantastic Ghost London range they stock. The whole experience of trying on the dress is one of the things leading up to the wedding that I will always look back on with fondness. I always felt like I was listened to during my visits and I was given the right level of privacy during fittings (this may sound trivial but its surprising how some boutiques get this wrong). I received updates on when my dress arrived and when to come in for fittings. Leanne and Karen were also able to advise on items such as wedding underwear”
tears
“My dad walked me down the aisle. Apparently he shed a tear (which is very rare for my dad) although I missed this as I was fighting back the tears myself as I walked towards Ross that had broken down in tears as soon as the music had started”.
walking-down-aisle
groom
vows
10
Photography
“Chris from Context Photography was actually recommended to us as he is a friends family member. We liked his natural style and he was so good with us on the day. We had a total change of plan with the photographs and decided against having family photos at the City Hall as it was just too hot on the day, so we managed to round up family member later on in the day at the tipi”
11
walking
kiss
Florist: Forbesfield, Cardiff
“I love flowers but it wasn’t something that we had prioritised on our wedding budget, however when we met with Beth and saw her work I wasn’t willing to settle for anyone else. Her work is truly amazing and she did not disappoint on the day”!
flowers
unspecified
flower-throw
Details:
“We designed our own wedding stationary on Vista Print which featured a watercolour painting of the tipi that my mum had painted. My parents handmade the wedding favours filling small pots of honey and moulding bees wax candles from the bees they keep on their land. Décor was kept simple with the main focus on the floral displays with rustic touches. We also kept the champagne bottles we had been given by friends and family as engagement presents and made them into candles for the top table”
wine
1-2
food-2
games-2
gaames
“We saw the wedding reception as the less formal part of the day so we decided to have our first dance to the acoustic version of the ‘Friends’ theme tune (played by our folk band). We chose this as when we introduce ourselves together people’s reactions are more often than not ‘oh my god you are Ross and Rachel!’ I’m not sure if the grandparents understood the reasoning behind the song but it was something that made us and a lot of our friends smile”
22
“There are so many moments that I could write about that stand out in my mind but my favourite moment of the day was the moment Ross turned around and we saw each other for the first time while I was walking down the aisle. All I saw was him and he was in floods of tears just as I knew he would be.Small things were unnecessarily stressed over in the lead up to the wedding and forgotten about on the day but honestly we can say we wouldn’t change a thing. Don’t stress over the finer details and just enjoy it as it goes so fast! Do it your way and remember the day is about you and your husband”
music
2

Final word:” The White Room is elegant and welcoming providing an enjoyable environment to try on a beautiful range of dresses. I definitely will be recommending the White Room to any future brides that I know mainly in the hope that I can visit the boutique again. I can’t thank Leanne and Karen enough for the brilliant service they provided and truly making the whole experience special”

xx

 

 

 

 

Published by

whiteroombridal

A beautiful bridal boutique in the heart of Sheffield city centre. Styling brides since July 2011. Award winning boutique with designers including Suzanne Neville, Sassi Holford, Halfpenny London and Rosa Clara. Accessories by Debbie Carlisle and shoes by Rainbow Club. Bridesmaid gowns by Ghost and underwear and nightwear from a range of UK and international suppliers including Wonderbra 0114 2722336 www.whiteroombridal.co.uk

Leave a Reply

