A real White Room wedding in Halfpenny London

Jaye wore Iris by Halfpenny London from The White Room, Sheffield. She sings our praises and, as is more then evident here, hosted a wedding which was as beautiful as her and her gown, but also as unique and relaxed as Jaye too. Here is her White Room story and the story of her elegant, minimal and unique wedding day…..
OY1A0611
“I heard about the White Room when helping my sister wedding dress shopping and when I got engaged she actually made the appointment for me to visit. Both of my older sisters had quite bad wedding dress shopping experiences and so I was a little bit dubious about the whole process. That is why it was such a nice surprise visiting The White Room. From the first moment I stepped through the door I knew I would have a good experience. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful. The décor is to die for and I couldn’t have been made to feel more at home and welcome. I found my dress quite early on and knew it was the one but didn’t want to commit to soon. I waited 4 months and returned to the shop, tried on the same dress and was 100% sure it was right for me. I didn’t even find I had to ask any questions as all of the staff gave me all of the answers I needed before even having to ask. I was able to have a giggle with all of the girls in the shop and every time I returned for alterations etc, it was just nice to have a catch up with everyone. I really can’t stress enough how friendly and welcoming everyone was. Not only did the staff remember me but also my mum and sisters. We all felt so welcome and I can’t thank you enough for making the whole process so utterly enjoyable”
OY1A0014OY1A0039
“Even though I had already got an idea about what I wanted the staff encouraged me to try on a few different styles of dress and I was really please that they did. It really made me see what I liked and didn’t like and I actually ended up choosing a dress with cap sleeves and I never thought I would have gone for sleeves. It also helped me to know that I was 100% confident with my decision when I did find my dress as I could see that the fit, feel and look was right for me and my body shape.
I feel that I was really well advised, from the decision to add a belt to bring my waist in to the colour and length of my veil. Even when I was unsure the staff listened and let me try different veil options (a number of times) and didn’t get annoyed or try to rush my decision.
To be honest I couldn’t chose just one thing you did best. I honestly loved the whole experience, from the welcome, to getting to know me and my style, understanding the church and reception venues which were quite different and I wanted a dress that would fit both, to all the advice and knowledge that the staff had which ultimately helped me to make my choice. Even to the top tip about lacquering my shoes so they didn’t catch my dress – all amazing”
OY1A0084
OY1A0110
“The communication throughout the whole process was amazing, and I was regularly in touch with the shop via phone and email. I was always kept well informed and the final service was just brilliant. As I work in town I just popped along for fittings in my lunchtime and those appointments would literally be the highlight of my week”
OY1A1035
“The seamstress was a delight and did such a wonderful job on my dress. When it had all been altered it fit me like a glove and the top layer honestly just floated along the ground – I felt like a true princess. The alteration costs were a lot less than I had budgeted for so I was very happy. I would 100% recommend brides to go to The White Room and if I had to sum up my experience I would say:
“Finding my wedding dress was one of the happiest most memorable parts of my entire wedding. It wasn’t just about finding ‘the’ dress, it was about chatting with the girls in the shop, spending time with my mum and sisters, going for a coffee after a fitting and going through and getting excited about wedding plans with them. It was about feeling comfortable in my dress, in my skin and with my decision. I felt like a princess from start to finish and I literally couldn’t be happier with the outcome.”
OY1A0145
Now for the wedding! June 25th 2016, Sheffield, UK
“I have always gone to school in Sheffield and went to Ranmoor Church for school carol concerts etc when I was younger so it felt like a special place to me, plus it’s right next door to a good pub so my Fiancé (now husband) was happy. Plus the Vicar married my 2 sisters so it felt right that he should marry me as well”
“We chose the venue as we wanted something that no one had done or seen before. Both my husband and I are quite creative and we wanted to be really involved in the whole process. From designing and creating our own invites to making our own cake topper and sourcing, sanding and painting/writing our own table plan (on a reclaimed wooden door) there was a massive DIY element to our day. The warehouse space really let us be creative and put our own stamp on the day. I must just say our great friend, Catherine Greatorex, who owns Petalis, needs a lot of credit for the overall look of the venue. I decided I didn’t want any decoration other than flowers as I wanted the exposed brick and beams of the warehouse to sit alongside the delicate and beautiful flowers – a kind of industrial meets secret garden infusion haha. Catherine really brought my vision to life and went above and beyond to make the whole theme of the wedding come together”
OY1A0162
OY1A0167
OY1A0213
The Love Story…
“When I was at University in Sheffield I used to work at Menzels on Ecclesall Road, where my now husband used to be the manager. 5 years and lots of nagging later he finally popped the question on a secluded beach in Florida. A few days prior to this we had actually had a big argument as he said that he didn’t think he ever actually wanted to get married – all part of his ploy to put me of the scent! I remember on the way to Florida my husband’s hand luggage (with the engagement ring in it) got pulled at the airport and, at the time, I couldn’t work out why he was being so strange. He just kept telling me to sit down to put my shoes on, and I was so confused because I was wearing flip-flops!! Honestly he was getting so sweaty and acting so erratically I wouldn’t have been surprised if airport security had taken him away there and then. At the time it was all very odd, but all become clear later on during the holiday 😉 haha”
“We were engaged for 18 months before we got married”.
OY1A0299
OY1A0541
The Details…
“We both knew we wanted to be very hands on and actually make a lot of the elements for our day. We both like the vintage reclaimed look and once we decided on the venue I think this really made our minds up as to the design route that we wanted to go down. With all the exposed brick and dark grey beams we wanted everything to look a bit worn/reclaimed and rustic. I think this against all of the beautiful fresh flowers just looked amazing”.
OY1A0499
OY1A0581

OY1A0655

Colours and styling…
“We didn’t really have a colour scheme we had navy bridesmaid dress and groomsmen suits as the bridesmaids all liked that particular dress. I know I wanted the flowers to be very neutral though, as there were lots of natural colours at the venue, such as the orange brick walls to the grey bar and mish mash of colours on the reclaimed German beer tables”
OY1A0677

OY1A0711

OY1A0717

Supplier List:
“The reception venue was 92 Burton Road, Kelham Island (Warehouse) Photographer: Devin Ainslie Photography – he is an AMAZING photographer and great friend! Videographer: Adam Nolan (Videographer and friend) Hair: Natalie and Hayley at Kinkks on Sharrowvale Road, Sheffield, S11 (really great friends and amazing hair dressers) Make Up: Lauren Eaton (one of my best friends)”
OY1A0728
Florist: Catherine Greatorex: Petalis Not only is she a friend but she is the most creative wonderful person I have ever met, she made our venue!
Cake: Sarah Mintoft, SJ Cake Studio (a White Room favourite!)
OY1A0749
OY1A0886OY1A0941
OY1A1016
Words of Wisdom:
“I would say that you should enjoy every single nano second because it is honestly over in the blink of an eye. I would also say that you should just enjoy it for what it is and don’t stress over the things you can’t control. On our wedding day it chucked it down, but I wouldn’t have changed it. Beforehand the thought of it raining seemed like a nightmare, but if anything it made it for us. We got some hysterical photos and amazing memories”.
OY1A1032
Huge love to Jaye and her new hubby on their marriage and a huge thank you to Jaye for her kind words about The White Room. You were a pleasure to dress and style!
Jaye wore Iris by Halfpenny London and a silk tulle veil from The White Room via HM veils. Gowns from £1400 ❤️
To be a White Room bride – call to book in and look as good as Jaye on 0114 2722336
http://www.whiteroombridal.co.uk

Published by

whiteroombridal

A beautiful bridal boutique in the heart of Sheffield city centre. Styling brides since July 2011. Award winning boutique with designers including Suzanne Neville, Sassi Holford, Halfpenny London and Rosa Clara. Accessories by Debbie Carlisle and shoes by Rainbow Club. Bridesmaid gowns by Ghost and underwear and nightwear from a range of UK and international suppliers including Wonderbra 0114 2722336 www.whiteroombridal.co.uk

Leave a Reply

