Wind and The Willow

I am a total rose gold addict, hence when I saw the styling details on this wedding, I not only fell in love, but was totally inspired by the creativity it had! Amy wore ‘Willow’ by Claire Pettibone at Woodlands Hotel in the summer of 2015. Here is her White Room experience and her wedding day for you all to be as equally inspired as I was… All images by Toast Of Leeds .
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
“Ash had been hinting at us getting engaged for a little while, but had always dismissed the idea as not being important – his master plan to throw me off the scent! To be fair, we hadn’t long moved in together, so I really didn’t think a proposal was on the cards for quite some time. All of a sudden one Saturday, he told me we were going out for some food and that I had to wear something nice (compared to every other day where I walk around in a sack). I won’t lie, I was suspicious. He took me to a restaurant we had never been to before, it was stunning decked out in fairy lights with a very intimate feel. We had the most incredible food, everything was so lovely, but I could sense something wasn’t quite right with him, he seemed tense. As soon as our plates were cleared Ash was sliding a little box across the table, and saying the most wonderful things about how he wants nothing more than to spend the rest of his life with me. As I opened the box I just couldn’t stop smiling, I must have been beaming from ear to ear! Ashley still maintains I never said yes, the ring on my finger isn’t all the answer you need?! He didn’t get down on one knee, it wasn’t grand, but it was perfect for us. We spent the rest of the night telling all our loved ones the fantastic news and enjoying some fizz.
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
“We knew straight away we wanted a summer wedding, we wanted the best chance we could possibly have of the weather being lovely enough to go outside. We very briefly discussed having a destination wedding in Croatia (our most favourite place ever), but quickly ruled it out as we knew there would be quite a few people that wouldn’t be able to make it, who we’d really want there. Home soil it was. We also decided very early on that we didn’t want a church wedding, neither of us are religious so didn’t feel right about it. Ash said he wanted everything to take place in one venue, so we started hunting for the perfect hotel/country home.
Woodlands Hotel was the first venue we visited, we knew even before we walked inside that it was the place to hold our special day. We booked the wedding 2 years in advance, giving us PLENTY of time to organise everything. The first few months was mainly one big Pinterest binge, but we made sure we sourced an amazing photographer before it was too late.
We were pretty laid back when it came to arranging everything else, just doing little and often. This made for very stress free planning!
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
“I don’t think I realised how much I cared about finding the “perfect” wedding dress until it came to looking around. I knew I wanted something no one will have seen before, and The White Room had just the dress. I wore Willow by Claire Pettibone, with the Odette headpiece and earrings by Debbie Carlisle. I don’t wear a great deal of jewellery these days, just my rings and a bracelet that my wonderful mum gave to me before she passed, but I thought if you can’t wear a bit of sparkle on your wedding day when can you?!
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
It was really important to me that I wore a dress I knew no one will have seen before. My dad offered to pay for it not giving me a set budget to stick to (such a hero), which made my search somewhat easier!
After dismissing boutique after boutique thinking ‘meh, not for me’, a friend told me about the shop she got her dress from, so I did a quick Google and wowzers! The White Room in Sheffield have an INSANE selection of gorgeous dresses, catering for pretty much every style. Chloe and her team know exactly how to give a bride the best shopping experience, they are so attentive and not at all pushy, everything is centred around what is best for you.
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
I walked into The White Room pretty sure I knew what I was going to choose, but at the same time figured I wouldn’t rule anything out. I’d seen the Claire Pettibone dresses on their website, and although I absolutely adored them I thought there was no way I could wear them – the majority of Claire’s dresses have illusion backs, meaning going braless is a must, for a lady who has been blessed/cursed (for me personally it’s definitely cursed) with rather a lot in the chest department, that can be a pretty daunting prospect! So that was that. The lovely ladies at White Room had other ideas though, after briefly talking over our plans for the wedding they pulled out some dresses for me to try on, all very different. Willow was among them as a ‘let’s just try it and see’ saving it until last…. The minxes they knew exactly what they were doing! I hadn’t even gotten the dress fully on before I was screaming ‘THIS IS THE ONE THIS IS THE ONE!!’
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
I just loved everything about it, the stunning illusion back with the sweet tulle flower that sat just above my bum, the satin skirt, the tulle draping around my hips, and the ribbons we can’t forget the ribbons! When I was told all they would do is sew cups into the dress, which would give me all the support I’d need, I was sold”
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
The White Room are HUGE fans of Campbell’s flowers – they regularly do our window displays and general amazing ability to create floral masterpieces never cease to amaze us. Amy agrees!
“If you take anything from my wedding take the utterly amazing Campbell’s Flowers! I honestly don’t know where to begin…. Thank god for Tracey and Mel! They were an absolute dream to work with. From the very sketchy brief I gave them of ‘pink and cream flowers for me with lots of green, and super wild, and for the bridesmaids, a bouquet of… it looks like lavender but it’s not lavender it’s pink’ haha I have no idea how they managed to decipher that, but they really delivered! Btw, the Lavender that isn’t Lavender because it’s pink, is actually Pink Astilbe” Who knew 😉

Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Much the same as with my dress, we knew straight away we wanted our photographer to be a little more special than the norm. After searching for what felt like an eternity for photographers in Leeds, we finally found Toast of Leeds. We fell in love with Shelly immediately, she has such an infectious personality that really puts you at ease. Not to mention her photos are BEAUTIFUL, we love how they all tell a story and capture the emotions of the day. When Shelly sent through all of our photos, and we were transported back to our wonderful day, I got so emotional (cue Whitney Houston – I defy anyone that doesn’t have that song in their head now!). It’s those moments that you didn’t even realise she was around, that make you go ‘wow’
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography

Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
After changing my mind several times on the colour scheme I eventually settled on blush and gold, it was just the theme I felt I kept getting drawn to.
I mentioned before that Woodlands really didn’t need anything adding décor wise, so I didn’t want to, and we couldn’t afford to go over the top with the little details. We got lots of gold tealight holders off of eBay to decorate the ceremony and top tables. Those gorgeous pink candlesticks were such a find from Dunhelm Mill! I’d have loved to have gone more over the top with candles for a more romantic feel, but we had to prioritise cost.
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
I’d seen the giant tassle balloons while reading other real weddings, and thought ‘they are an absolute must!’ I found Bubblegum Balloons via a Google search and ordered two giant balloons which sat outside the entrance to the hotel, and later moved to showcase our epic dessert table.
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
I am just so in love with sequin table linen! Again, they were an absolute must. I got our table runners and tablecloth from Pudding Bridge. If you’re thinking of ordering sequin linen for your own wedding, honestly contact Helen don’t even look anywhere else. The service from Pudding Bridge was just outstanding.
Really must mention the fabulous Ashley Tyrell-Greenwood who I had as mine and the girls’ make up artist. She is such a great person to be around, and I feel I definitely need to learn some of her skills, our make up was on point! Even after dancing (like a bit of a maniac I’m sure) all night long, and turning into a sweaty mess, my face still looked pretty damn good.
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Asking Amy what was your very favourite part of the day and why? “I honestly couldn’t choose one particular part, the whole day was so perfect. We both sat back during the wedding breakfast, looking at all of our family and friends having a lovely time, and just smiled at each other saying ‘this is amazing’. I loved every part of our day, and given the opportunity I would choose all of our suppliers again. As I was getting ready with the girls I was just stood, champagne in hand, watching them having their hair and make up done, chatting and laughing. And I don’t know what came over me, but I was suddenly so overwhelmed by what was happening. Like I couldn’t believe the day was finally here, and it was all for me. It was at this point that tears started streaming down my face, I just couldn’t control it, and Shelly shouted ‘NO UGLY CRYING!!’ – I will always remember that”
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
“Trying to hold back tears as I started walking down the aisle with my dad! I may look grumpy in those photos, but I promise those are ‘really trying not to cry happy tears’ faces. The only thing I would change is right at the beginning when we first got engaged, I was so caught up in the excitement, that I had us immediately booking things without first discussing what was most important to us. If we’d have done this we could have definitely budgeted better!”
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
“Biggest piece of advice, and you’ll hear every recently married woman say it….. don’t sweat the small stuff! All of those little details that you feel are so crucial, that you get yourself all in a tizz over, honestly not worth it whatsoever. You will have the most amazing day no matter what colour candle holders you have! Your family and friends are there because they love you, they really won’t care about those things”
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Woodlands Hotel wedding photography by Toast Photography
Venue | Woodlands Hotel
Photographer | Toast of Leeds
Florist | Campbell’s Flowers
Wedding Dress | White Room Bridal
Bridal Accessories | DC Bouquets
Shoes | Rachel Simpson Shoes
Groomsmen Attire | York Hire Wear
Bridesmaid Dresses | Chi Chi London
Cake and Dessert Table | The Whimsical Cake Company
Make up | Ashley Tyrrell Make Up
Hair | Creator Hair
Sequin Table Linen | Pudding Bridge
Giant Tassel Balloons | Bubblegum Balloons
Table Plan and Place Cards | Bruski

Published by

whiteroombridal

A beautiful bridal boutique in the heart of Sheffield city centre. Styling brides since July 2011. Award winning boutique with designers including Suzanne Neville, Sassi Holford, Halfpenny London and Rosa Clara. Accessories by Debbie Carlisle and shoes by Rainbow Club. Bridesmaid gowns by Ghost and underwear and nightwear from a range of UK and international suppliers including Wonderbra 0114 2722336 www.whiteroombridal.co.uk

Leave a Reply

