Dreaming in Dalia – a woodland Jenny Packham wedding

Sinead married Andy in Sheffield in a beautiful Jenny Packham gown, Dalia. The setting is sublime and what I loved about Sinead was her laid back attitude to the whole thing. She just wanted to get married and then have a party! Here is her story…

image (34)

image (37)

“We got engaged near enough 2 years before our wedding. Andy had been working away for two weeks and he was rushing back as it was my 30th birthday. I’d literally just got out of the bath, had a tuban around my head and was wet through in a towel when he shouted that he was home. So I ran downstairs to find him sat on the sofa looking a little grey!

image (32)

He gave my birthday card which was filled with confetti hearts (I have slight OCD so immediately started cleaning them up) when I looked up there he was with a ring and a proposal. I basically screamed for about 20 mins until he quietly said ‘Sinead, you haven’t answered me’ Of course I said yes. We then went out for my 30th/engagement meal with our families!”

image (10)

I saw a Jenny Packham dress online which I loved so I googled stockists and The White Room came up. Me and my mum popped in to see if we could have a quick look around. Chloe let us straight in and I explained which dress I was interested in.

It wasn’t in stock as it was part of Jenny Packhams next collection. A few weeks later there was a preview weekend – in which my dress would be in!

image (13)

I emailed Chloe to see if she could squeeze me in – the weekend was full but she said I could come really early on the Monday before they went back. Hurray!

image (26)

I ended up trying six different dresses and got it down to two. I loved my dress because it was so vintagy and I hadn’t seen anything else like it. The two i got it down to were quite similar but the other was white and mine was ivory. Chloe suggested that I had the other in the running because it was white – and that mine came in white also! Sorted!

image (7)

The whole experience was great. It was so easy. What I probably liked the most was that Chloe or Georgia weren’t ‘gushy’. From what other people told me about dress shops and the tears and the ‘oh my god you look like a princess in all of them’ type scenarios – I was dreading it!

image (6)

It just a lovely atmosphere in which you make your own decision with subtle advice.

The boutique is beautiful.here is definitely a large enough selection, any more and they all start to look the same! I think because I had researched Jenny Packham a little beforehand I knew the prices so it wasn’t too much of a shock! The quality of my dress was amazing! I ordered my dress 20 months before out wedding so the lead time was fine.  

Sinead in Dalia by The White Room Sheffield

My mum and Andys mum said the same and the seamstress was amazing. All of the final arrangements and pick up was great. Georgia told us how to get any creases out etc just in case.

image (29)

The alterations were lovely, she left a nice pool at the back of the dress which I didn’t expect and none of the crystal detail was lost at the back. I have already recommended you to everyone getting married saying that the shop and service is lovely and the dresses are amazing, there is nothing The White Room can do better, the whole thing, from the service, my dress and the smell (!) I’ve even bought that candle!

image (22)

We didn’t really have a matchy matchy theme. It was more woodland/vintage/magical. We had the most amazing florist, Julie, who was herself so excited about the whole concept of getting married in an onion and the teepees we let her have a pretty free rein. I have no idea about flowers, and she’s an expert. Her concept is to really get inside your head, then just go with it. Amazing!

image (36)

I also made quite a few things. Everyone was collecting lace doilies for months so I could sew them all together for table runners.

I also had paper hearts on the back of chairs which myself and the bridesmaids stapled together over wine! For our favours we had cancer research pins.

image (20)

image (18)

My friend had and beat breast cancer last year so it seemed a nicer idea to spend the money on something meaningful. The badges were actually designed by Jenny Packham too!

The most important thing to us was that it was a good fun day and we really wanted everyone to enjoy it! Our friends did the DJing and the dance floor was full all night. We didn’t want the day to be too formal and weddingy.

image (16)

Hazels caterers did a fabulous job or serving our posh BBQ to the tables.

Everyone could just tuck in and keep filling their plate up. We hired ‘Motore Cafe’ for part of the day serving cappacino latte, hot chocolate.

The little APE van went down a storm. The fires were a perfect finishing touch to our teepees and people were roasting marshmellows all night.

image (15)

  • Venue Ecclesall Woods
  • Dress – Dalia by Jenny Packham at The White Room, Sheffield (www.whiteroombridal.co.uk)
  • Florist Darceys Florist Cannon Hall
  • Photography Neil Stewart Photography
  • Hair Emma at Elaine Davidson & Make Up Georgina at The Beauty Clinic
  • Styling/extras Joy from Unique Wedding Planning did our on the day co-ordination
  • BM Dresses Dessy

image (24)

What was your groom’s reaction to your gown? Did the guests love it and more importantly, did you feel amazing?

There is a funny picture to show his reaction – he loved everything, ‘Wow you look beautiful your dress is amazing, your hair looks lovely’ all came out of his mouth at once. I felt amazing yes and everyone else loved it and were complimenting me all day. One of my friends said I still looked like me, but an ‘Uber’ me.

image (17)

 Was your wedding day everything you wished for? Did everything go to plan? Did any little things go wrong?!

It totally was absolutely perfect! We had Joy from Unique Wedding Planning doing our co-ordination on the day (I say on the day but we met up at least 3 times before the day and I must have emailed her five times a day for two weeks before the wedding)

image (14)

 

She is soooo amazing and would definitely recommend her to anybody getting married. She was like my mind when I wasn’t there! Nothing went wrong the whole day seems like a dream.

image (11)

What was your 1st dance song? “Does this have special meaning to you both? It was ‘Starlight ‘ by ELO – Andy sings it to me in the car regularly  so it had to be that one”

photo 3

Is there anything you would change?” Maybe to have an earlier starting ceremony as we didn’t have much time for photos between that and the meal. And I would have had a videographer in hindsight”

Do you have any advice for brides to be? “Spend more time dancing and less time trying to get round and talk to everybody!!”

photo 4

We wish Andy and Sinead the very best for the future as man and wife and thank them for sharing their wedding with us!

Big Love

The White Room xx

Published by

whiteroombridal

A beautiful bridal boutique in the heart of Sheffield city centre. Styling brides since July 2011. Award winning boutique with designers including Suzanne Neville, Sassi Holford, Halfpenny London and Rosa Clara. Accessories by Debbie Carlisle and shoes by Rainbow Club. Bridesmaid gowns by Ghost and underwear and nightwear from a range of UK and international suppliers including Wonderbra 0114 2722336 www.whiteroombridal.co.uk

Leave a Reply

