Eden… That is all x

Georgina married in Wales. She embraced the sea. She embraced the vintage trend sweeping our brides. She got the sun. She wore Jenny Packham. India Hobson Shot the day (amazingly well!). Georgina wore Eden. Eden is an icon. This is Georgina’s wedding day.

Georgina in Eden from The White Room Sheffield

“Ste proposed to me on the 1st March 2012 on the side of a mountain in Italy whilst skiing. I always knew where I wanted to marry as my parents have a holiday home there, so we knew that Abersoch, North Wales, would be the place. It is where I did most of my growing up and met so many friends so it has a special meaning to me. It is also incredibly beautiful and coastal which both of us loved”

Abersoch North Wales Eden White Room Sheffield

Georgina in Eden White Room Sheffield

“Because of the venue, there was a bit of a beachy theme – we hired campervans for our transport, our first dance was a Beach Boys track and place names were written on stones collected from local beaches but we didn’t want anything too styled. Our main aim was to try to create a relaxed and fun vibe and for all our guests to really let their hair down and enjoy the party!” 

The very cool camper!

The details Ste&Georgie_HighRes-279

“Following our engagement (embarrassingly quickly in fact!) I started looking in bridal mags and online for the style of dress I might like to wear on my big day. I knew immediately that I was not going to end up going for the classic ivory, strapless, big skirted number, and that I’d probably end up with something a bit different. My initial thoughts were that I wanted to try some Jenny Packham’s and Claire Pettibone’s. I live in work in Sheffield and so I was really pleased to find that The White Room stocked both of these designers”

Getting Ready

Eden by Jenny Packham

“There were no problems in making an appointment at The White Room and when I arrived for the first time, my initial impressions were of a modern, luxurious boutique, with an owner, Chloe who understood and was open to brides who wanted something that little bit different. The trying experience was great. I was left to choose 6-7 gowns to try on and Chloe set them all up in the fitting room for me. I was the only one in the boutique at the time so it felt like a really personal and special experience.”

Eden Platinum at The White Room

Getting ready x

Georgina in Eden The white room sheffield

“I thought the selection of gowns was good. At my second appointment there were two particular gowns from Claire Pettibone’s new range that I wanted to try and Chloe managed to get them in especially for me. I was happy with the price points, I knew I was investing in something special in the gown and the service! The gown that I eventually chose was Jenny Packham’s Eden and it’s price at The White Room was the same as at Jenny Packham’s London store – but without the travel!”

Bridesmaids

Ste&Georgie_HighRes-68

Georgina in Eden at The White Room Sheffield

“Picking my dress was quite a hard decision for me. As soon as I tried it on it felt right but the problem I had was that it wasn’t what I thought I wanted. Before I tried any dresses on I had decided that I wanted something lacey with a train. Mine had no lace and no train and wasn’t what people might think of as traditionally bridal. I suppose I also worried to some extent what people might think of it. I did have a bit of a wobble after I’d bought my dress. Chloe handled it brilliantly though and after a second trying on session, all those doubts vanished and I couldn’t wait to wear my dress on my wedding day.What was really important to me was to find a boutique where the staff were open to modern brides who want that something different and who were flexible enough not to just go with the same old formula of what they think works best. I found this in The White Room”.

eorgina in Eden at The White Room Sheffield

The venue

“I absolutely loved getting ready on the morning our our wedding. Two of my bridesmaids stayed over with me the night before the wedding and in the morning we went for a chilled out walk along the beach which felt so special to me. I had walked along that stretch of beach a million times in the past and now I was doing it again with my two closest friends on the morning of my wedding! Then the hairdresser, makeup artist, my mum and my two other bridesmaids arrived and we started getting ready. It all went surprisingly smoothly and was really relaxed. The only time I felt myself welling up all day was when the make up artist was trying to apply my eye make-up (who knows why!) “

Walking the aisle

Walking down the aisle

“I had been a little concerned about what my groom’s reaction might be to my gown. I had even pre-warned him that it was not what he might think of as a “traditional” wedding dress. All my fears were unfounded though as the first thing he said to me when I got to the end of the aisle was “you look amazing”. All the guests were blown away with my gown – saying that I looked like someone out of Downton Abbey! And of course, I felt amazing! One of the best things about my gown was it’s danceability. I always knew that I didn’t want to be uncomfortable in my dress. I love to dance and wanted to be able to do so unrestricted on my wedding day”. 

Ste&Georgie_HighRes-123

Ste and George

The happy couple x

“The wedding was everything I wished for – even the weather was perfect (and this was after a storm the night before). Only one thing didn’t go according to plan and that was our guestbook. We had a polaroid camera and a guest book for people to use but no-one even saw it!”

Georgina and Ste

Eden by Jenny Packham at The White Room Sheffield

“Saying my vows was the best part of the day. Once you’ve done that, everything felt so much lighter! We laughed and loved our 1st dance too, The Beach Boys “wouldn’t it be nice”!. No special meaning – we liked the lyrics and the tune and it just seemed to fit the tone of the day (plus it’s really short!)”

Georgina and Ste Eden Jenny Packham

The cake!

Dinner

Beautiful x

Any advice for brides to be?! “Don’t sweat the small stuff (easy with hindsight!). If you have a guestbook, make sure your guests know about it!”

What a beautiful wedding! George and Ste, all the love for the future!

The bride wore – Eden in platinum by Jenny Packham at The White Room, Sheffield

Shoes – Ginger by Rachel Simpson at The White Room, Sheffield

Veil – Hand dyed silk tulle veil by HM Veils at The White Room

Other suppliers included:

Venue – Oriel Plas Glynn Y Weddw art gallery (ceremony) & Tremfan Hall (reception)
Florist – Ty Blodau, Caenarfon
Photography – India Hobson, Sheffield
Hair & Make Up – Liv from Bay Waves, Abersoch (hair) and Meg from The Warren Spa, Abersoch (make up)
Styling/extras –  Hairpiece for evening - Cherished Vintage
Bridesmaid Dresses - Coast

Published by

whiteroombridal

A beautiful bridal boutique in the heart of Sheffield city centre. Styling brides since July 2011. Award winning boutique with designers including Suzanne Neville, Sassi Holford, Halfpenny London and Rosa Clara. Accessories by Debbie Carlisle and shoes by Rainbow Club. Bridesmaid gowns by Ghost and underwear and nightwear from a range of UK and international suppliers including Wonderbra 0114 2722336 www.whiteroombridal.co.uk

Leave a Reply

