A beach side Vintage Claire Pettibone real wedding

This wedding is beautiful. It’s striking. It’s full of love and happiness and it’s creative. Jayne wore Claire Pettibone’s ‘Kristene’ bridal gown for her May 2013 wedding and she rocked it!

Jayne in Kristene at The White Room sheffield Claire Pettibone

Jayne says: “I love absolutely love all things vintage and when we first got engaged, I knew straight away that I wanted a vintage or vintage look gown. I live in Gateshead so I initially hunted around Newcastle for vintage gowns and there was nothing that met the vision I had in my mind. I’d spent hours, days and weeks! looking at vintage gowns online but I found that  it is so difficult to get a genuine vintage gown that is in good condition and in a  twentieth century size! However, one day I was flicking through a wedding mag when I saw the most amazing vintage gown by Claire Pettibone. From that moment on I knew I had to have it! I went online and I found UK stockist and luckily one of the stockist was the most beautiful little boutique in Sheffield. I immediately emailed Chloe at The White Room to book an appointment, when we arrive Chloe had closed of the entire boutique for me and my mam. As soon as we entered the boutique I knew I would buy a gown there. It was beautiful, luxurious but not pretentious and Chloe was so warm and welcoming.  Having visited many bridal shops and seen hundreds of dress without anything really ‘me’ I was in my element. Every dress was unique and amazing!”

Beautiful Shoes

Kristene by Claire Pettibone

“We were on holiday when we got engaged. We started going out when we were 17/18 and I made it clear that I never wanted to get married! One day I realised that I’d said this so many times that Gary would never propose so one night on holiday, after several Long Island Ice Teas, I plucked up the courage and he said yes (unconventional as ever!)”. 

Gary and Jayne The White Room

“We got married at Newton Hall, Newton by the Sea in Northumberland. We didn’t want anything stuffy and formal; we just wanted things to represent us. The venue was amazing and they really listened to what we wanted. I made a lot of the decorations which made it feel more personal. We had the venue for the weekend so it really felt like it was our place. Finding the dress was lovely too.  Having previously been told ‘you look amazing’ whilst standing in the most unflattering dresses and feeling very deflated, I felt that I was now a good judge of what a ‘genuine’ person is. As soon as I met Chloe I knew she had my best interest a heart rather than being focus on the sale. She gave me genuine advice on what suited my body shape and she really listened to what I wanted. Chloe allowed me to try on as many gowns as I wanted and tactfully gave her honest opinion about each one (which was very much appreciated!). She gave us as much time as we wanted and put no pressure on me”

Kristene at The White Room Sheffield Claire Pettibone

Kristene by Claire Pettibone The White Room Sheffield

“I loved the way that the boutique was exclusively ours during our visits. I did not experience this anywhere else and it really makes The White Rooms stand out. As a bride you are meant to feel special but in reality you quite often don’t, you feel like you’re just another bride among many but at The White Rooms I felt like I was ‘the’ bride”

Jayne in Kristene

“As I mentioned before, I love all things vintage and we decided to focus on the 1920s style. We didn’t want to have a rigid theme but we wanted it to be an aspect of the day. Music is so important to both of us and it’s what really brought us together so we knew we wanted something special. We had music playing all day and we had one of our favourite musicians, Nick Harper, playing on the night”.  

Gary&Jayne-NewtonHall (15 of 781)

How did you feel getting dressed on the morning of the wedding? Amazing!

What was your groom’s reaction to your gown? Did the guests love it and more importantly, did you feel amazing? They loved it!

Was your wedding day everything you wished for? Did everything go to plan? Did any little things go wrong?! It really was the best day of our lives! Everything was perfect and more than we ever dreamed of.

Jayne and her maids in Kristene by Claire Pettibone Sheffield White Room

Gary&Jayne-NewtonHall (109 of 781)

Jayne in Kristene by Claire Pettibone The White Room sheffield

What was the best part of the day? Everything! I really can’t pick one moment!

What was your 1st dance song? Does this have special meaning to you both? We didn’t have a first dance but our isle song was ‘Dance, dance, dance’ by Neil Young. We both love Neil Young!

Is there anything you would change? Nothing!

Jayne in Kristene by Claire Pettibone Sheffield The White Room

Gary and Jayne Kristene White Room Sheffield

Gary&Jayne-NewtonHall (589 of 781)

Jaynes suppliers were: 

• Venue - Newton Hall - http://www.newton-hall.com/
 • Florist - Bels Flowers - http://www.belsflowers.co.uk/
 • Photography - Helen Russell - http://helenrussellphotography.co.uk/
 • Hair & Make Up - Lisa Jones - http://www.lisajoneshairandmakeup.co.uk/
 • Styling/extras - me
 • BM Dresses - John Lewis

Jayne in Kristene by Claire Pettibone

Do you have any advice for brides to be? Don’t take things too seriously. Enjoy it and don’t forget what a wedding is truly about!

Gary&Jayne-NewtonHall (575 of 781)

Gary&Jayne-NewtonHall (573 of 781)

What an amazing wedding look – I’m sure you’ll all agree Jayne looked amazing. The woman’s face in the cream dress watching Jayne walk down the aisle says it all to me!!

Congratulations Jayne and Gary – we wish you many, many years together of love and happiness.

Much Love xx

Published by

whiteroombridal

A beautiful bridal boutique in the heart of Sheffield city centre. Styling brides since July 2011. Award winning boutique with designers including Suzanne Neville, Sassi Holford, Halfpenny London and Rosa Clara. Accessories by Debbie Carlisle and shoes by Rainbow Club. Bridesmaid gowns by Ghost and underwear and nightwear from a range of UK and international suppliers including Wonderbra 0114 2722336 www.whiteroombridal.co.uk

Leave a Reply

