A beautiful Christmas wedding with a Scottish twist

Laura came to The White Room to search for her perfect wedding gown to wear on the 22nd December 2012. I immediately gelled with Laura – we share the same wedding date (albeit 3 years apart!) so I knew all about the magic of a winter wedding. Here is Laura’s White Room experience and all the lovely details of her gorgeous wedding.

Laura and Alan  from the white room, sheffield

Laura says: “We got engaged on 17.12.11 – it was completely out of the blue to me – we were walking through the Botanical Gardens (on the way to the pub!) when Al got down on one knee and produced the most beautiful ring.  We got married and had our reception at the Maynard in Grindleford.  We just loved the relaxed atmosphere of the venue and staff and the setting in the Peak District.  We love going back to visit and it will also be special to us now”.

Family Pics!

“A friend told me about the White Room – she had got married the year before you opened and was gutted that she didn’t get the chance to visit. I had looked on the website beforehand and arranged an appt through that.   I LOVED the place as soon as I walked in!! Chloe was very friendly and welcoming but came across as someone that genuinely loved her work and wanted to help.  She listened to my initial, vague and confused ideas about the dress I wanted and helped me to expand on them”.  

Alan and Laura

Laura and Alan from The White Room, Sheffield

“As someone with lots of issues about their body image I was nervous about this but Chloe soon put me at ease and I really enjoyed it and thought actually looked quite good in some of the gowns! My mum came with me and being the lovely lady she is she loved every dress – which although very sweet didn’t really help! Chloe however, managed to get the balance of an honest opinion whilst making me feel good about myself and making it clear it was about finding the right dress for me. I have tried but honestly can’t think of anything that was lacking or best as it was all so good” 

Getting ready for the ceremony

Frankie with Costello Belt by Stephanie Allin at The White Room Sheffield

“The boutique got just the right balance – it was sharp and uncluttered without being cold.  The fact that the shop is closed for appts was also a massive plus for me as it meant I wasn’t worrying about other people coming in and judging how I looked and consequently, I felt comfortable trying on all different types of dresses”

Frankie by Stephanie Allin

So how was the wedding?!

“We went for the predictable Christmas theme with “special” Christmas crackers, bauble name card holders, fairy lights, mistletoe & holly.  I know this is a bit cliché but we genuinely just wanted a relaxed day that everyone enjoyed and we succeeded!!  I really hate having my photograph taken so we really needed to find someone that put us at ease and who took natural photographs rather that staged or posed ones! And as for the dress… well  I really didn’t have much of an idea.  As most brides I wanted to loose a bit of weight before the wedding but I didn’t want a dress that I felt I had to lose the weight for and that I felt special but at the same comfortable in.  My first shop was The White Room and I found my dress but was too scared to choose it without looking around. I had appointments booked in 3 other shops but I only actually went to 1 of them and cancelled the other as I just felt I was going through the motions and knew that Frankie was the dress and The White Room was the boutique for me!”

Laura and her maids

Frankie by Stephanie Allin at The White Room Sheffield

“With Chloe’s help I tried lots of different dresses and styles and it helped to select what colour suited me – it was definitely ivory as the champagne dresses just did not suit my skin tone.  I really liked a few of the dress and then I tried on Frankie and loved it straight away.  It suited my shape, was a bit different and I felt feminine but funky too.  I just wish I could wear it out and about!!”

Saying their vows

Laura and Alan

“I felt so relaxed, happy & excited- I could not stop grinning. I had no nerves at all and couldn’t wait to marry Al and the grin on his face said it all when he saw me in my gown 🙂 . Lots of my girlfriends said they had thought I might go for a shorter dress but never knew you could get a combination like Frankie and they loved it!! The pockets for my lipstick were a big winner. I felt like a funky princess!”

Laura and Alan

Laura and Alan

“We loved every minute of it. The weather was bleak but it was December so it was expected and in no way dampened the day. A couple of mishaps – 1) my dad interrupted the first dance to have a dance with me!! Bless him. 2) we attempted a highland dance that we’d practiced on my hen do but we weren’t exactly skilled in and someone fell on my dress so hard that it ripped it! But a quick safety pin under Frankie’s belt and no one would know”!

Busting some moves!

Dancing with mum

Cutting the cake

Happy brides!
And advice to brides? Laura says: “Just enjoy yourself. Al & I planned our wedding a lot but we were always relaxed about it. We weren’t aiming for perfection just for a special fun day for us and our friends and family – all achieved!”

We wish both Laura and Alan such a happy life together… And to make for more even wonderful news:

“Al and I got back from our honeymoon to the surprise that we are having a wedding night/honeymoon baby!! Baby Skelts is due in late September (in fact 9 months from our wedding day!) and given I was starting a new job when we got back from honeymoon it has been a busy but amazing time. 🙂 We had the best day ever on our wedding day and I really want to thank you for helping to make the run up so calm and special”

Laura and Alan

The Venue – The Maynard, Grindleford. Kate Lloyd is the wedding planner and was fabulous, I can’t recommend her enough. Nothing was too much hassle for her and we felt like our wedding was individual and not just a conveyor belt.
The Florist was Valerie of Dore – top job!
Photography Karl Stancliffe – Stancliffe Studios. He was fab and we have finally got round to selecting our album – and I actually can’t wait to get it!
Hair & Make Up Hair was Clare Morton from Hair at St Pauls – she is my usual hairdresser and was perfect. Make-up, Katie from the MAC in Meadowhall! The make-up was brilliant
Styling/extras – I got my veil, shoes, headband all from The White Room – by HM Veils, Debbie Carlisle of DC Bouquets and Rachel Simpson shoes!

Published by

whiteroombridal

A beautiful bridal boutique in the heart of Sheffield city centre. Styling brides since July 2011. Award winning boutique with designers including Suzanne Neville, Sassi Holford, Halfpenny London and Rosa Clara. Accessories by Debbie Carlisle and shoes by Rainbow Club. Bridesmaid gowns by Ghost and underwear and nightwear from a range of UK and international suppliers including Wonderbra 0114 2722336 www.whiteroombridal.co.uk

Leave a Reply

