Emily in Minerva – a colourful Jenny Packham wedding

Emily married Justin wearing Jenny Packham’s stunningly romantic tulle and beaded gown Minerva. This is her beautiful story…

“We got engaged in Barbados in March 2011.  Justin got down on one knee and proposed on the beach. The White Room was the first and the only boutique I went to.  Chloe was absolutely lovely – welcomed me in and encouraged me to try the dress – even though I was obviously then quite a bit large for the dress!  She never once made me feel like I shouldn’t be there (which from hearing about other bridal stores and brides experiences I hear does happen!)  The boutique is absolutely lovely, very clean, dresses in fantastic condition décor is lovely.  Even the smell – I bought the ‘Blush’ candle as I love the smell so much – I had it burning on my wedding day while I was getting ready!

Emily and Justin

“We got married on the 6th April 2013 and we chose Elms Barn near Beccles in Norfolk because you can have a ‘wedding weekend’  All of your guests can stay on site (well most of them). You go on the Friday, have  a BBQ/Buffet in the evening, wedding on the Saturday then brunch or a BBQ on the Sunday before everyone goes home.  We had friends traveling from all over some of whom we haven’t seen for a long time.  Doing it this way meant we were able to have a whole weekend to catch up, and everyone got a nice weekend away.  It was so much fun and cost the same as a hotel might charge for a day.  We can definitely recommend it!”

Emily in Minerva

“I knew I wanted a Jenny Packham dress having seen a friend of a friends wedding photos from a few years ago.  At the time I had googled her dresses and saved a couple of the images to my computer (this was before I even met Justin!!) in case I met someone… So having looked at all of the magazines for inspiration I kept coming back to look at the pics I still had on my laptop of Minverva… “

Emily in Minerva

Emily in Minerva

 “We had orange and fucia as or colours – I love bright bold colours.  Justin’s favourite colour is orange (his business logo is orange) Justin also wanted a blue suit, so he went to Hugo Boss and bought the brightest bluest suit they had!  We love how it came out in the pictures.  Food and Music was also very important – we wanted people to be well fed and well entertained.  So the Friday night we had a BBQ and a couple of acoustic singers (Adam Chandler) who was absolutely brilliant – everyone was up dancing and that was just Friday!  Then Saturday We had a group called The One Eyed Cats.  They are local to Peterborough where we live and are absolutely fantastic – they ALWAYS get everyone up dancing.  I can highly recommend both!  “

Emily Border and maidsJustin getting ready

How did you feel getting dressed on the morning of the wedding?
“I felt really exited – I was on such a high. I was also nervous because when I had collected the dress the week before, it was a big tight on the back still so I had two body wraps and had cut right down on carbs that week to make it fit smoother – and it did! Words cannot describe how elated I felt when the zip went up and there was room to spare!”

What was your groom’s reaction to your gown? Did the guests love it and more importantly, did you feel amazing?
“He loved it – he said it wasn’t what he was expecting – but then when I asked what he was expecting me to wear he said he didn’t know?! (The random thoughts of man!) The guests loved it, I felt all floaty and swishy – it made me walk tall”. 

Emily and Justin
“The day went amazingly, everything ran smoothly, we had so much fun – I think the main thing is that you just have to have fun! When the music started up (Etta James – At Last) for me to walk in – it felt electric! Even remembering it, the hairs stand up on my arms! I had the biggest grin on my face it was just the best moment ever!”

Emily and Justin

Emily Justins

Our 1stdance was Maverick Sabre – I need. We just Love the song, it’s one of those ‘turn it up’ ones”

And finally, any tips for our brides?

“Remember to have fun!  It is easy to get caught up in planning (I became a bit of a bridezilla in the last few months!) but at the end of the day stressing over small details didn’t get me anywhere but stressed!  Also it goes so fast – at some point in the day, take a moment to look around and take it all in – the people, the décor and how you feel and enjoy it!”

Emily and Justin

Who were your suppliers?

• Venue – Elms Barn, Beccles, Norfolk
• Florist – Teena at Elms Barn (the owners wife is the Elms Florist)
• Photography – Studio Rouge
• Hair & Make Up – Make up – Defining Radiance (Dionne)  & Hair – Sam Roberts Wedding Hair
• Styling/extras – Jenny Packham – Acacia II headpiece in Crystal, Acacia I Cuff in Crystal, Lula Ear-rings. Shoes – Rachel Simpson

Published by

whiteroombridal

A beautiful bridal boutique in the heart of Sheffield city centre. Styling brides since July 2011. Award winning boutique with designers including Suzanne Neville, Sassi Holford, Halfpenny London and Rosa Clara. Accessories by Debbie Carlisle and shoes by Rainbow Club. Bridesmaid gowns by Ghost and underwear and nightwear from a range of UK and international suppliers including Wonderbra 0114 2722336 www.whiteroombridal.co.uk

Leave a Reply

