Natalie, Larissa and Tiger Lily

On a wet and rainy week day in June, Natalie Broxton married her beau in a beautiful ceremony at the Tiger Lily hotel in Edinburgh wearing the girly, relaxed and colourful Claire Pettibone gown, Larissa. Here is her heartwarming story and her feedback of her positive experience of The White Room

“I found The White Room through the Claire Pettibone website as The White Room was listed as a stockist and I already knew Larrissa was so the dress so E-mailed Chloe late on a Monday evening and she responded within half an hour! I knew there and then that whoever e-mailed me back about the dress I had to stick with The White Room just because of how efficient Chloe was. The appointment system was very easy and Chloe was very flexible with times and understood that I would be travelling from quite far away (Wigan) and gave me lots of options to suit me. My 1st impressions of the shop was wow (!) it was amazing and so different from any other wedding dress shop. There were no scary racks of dresses in awful plastic bags there were just amazing dresses and each one had there own style and told there own story”

When I asked Natalie about the boutique and her experience of us, she says so kindly: “The boutique was perfect, it was warm and friendly it was so stylish yet homely.  I knew straight away that this was where my wedding dress was going to be from. It was so unlike all the other wedding dress shops that I had been in. As soon as my mum walked in she said I can see why you got your dress from here, it s very you! I felt 100 % comfortable in the fitting room, it was spacious and I never felt overwhelmed or pushed. Everything was perfect!”

Natalie chose ‘Larissa’ by Claire Pettibone as her wedding gown, a very feminine and ethereal gown, decorated in blush and peach with organza flowers and silk ribbons. Natalie was such a Claire Pettibone bride, I knew that she would look amazing in her designs so when we got talking about the venue, her relationship with her fiance and just Natalie’s hopes and dreams for her wedding day, I was so pleased that Larissa worked for her and she felt amazing in the gown. Here is Natalie’s wedding story…

“We were married at Edinburgh Lothian Chambers with the reception at Tigerlily. My mum is from Aberdeen so it was nice to have someone Scottish in the family there and the city is so magical and has such a great feel about it everyone is so friendly, it just worked. It was also the only place where the venue was perfect the decor the vibe the rooms.  For the meal we had the whole backside of the restaurant which meant it was also private, the cocktails where out of this world, the staff where amazing and the Georgian suite was big enough for all the bridesmaids the morning of the wedding. We were treated like royalty”

Natalie says about her gown: “I never thought I would have a “wedding dress” I could never imagine myself in a white big puffy dress and I always though my shape would never suit one. It got to a point where I went into a wedding shop looking at bridesmaids dresses and  looked at the wedding dresses and said ‘this is all wrong I hate every dress’ and ‘this isn’t what I would want at all’!
The women who owned the shop said well it’s a good job your not getting married to which I replied ‘I am’ but I don’t want a big dress! I knew I was definitely after something different but I didn’t know what I was also scared about being judged in the shops and it my fears where only heightened when she proceeded to tell me I would never find I dress within six months and would have to order one next week to get one for June!!! 


Then the search got serious in my mind I didn’t want to fall in love with a dress and not be able to get it due to time restrictions. I searched high and low for a dress designer, a maxi dress and found nothing! I didn’t want anything that resembled a wedding dress until I typed ‘boho bride’ into google and there she was! I just knew she was what I wanted, simple but so understated, classy but a bit wild with a romantic feel. Larissa was my perfect dress!”

Natalie paired Larissa with the Lucetta headband by House of Istria (at The White Room) “I originally had a Jenny Packham ‘Acacia III’ but she didn’t feel right with my dress she was a little too formal. The House of Istria headband just went so perfect with my dress and it  reflected who I was, I loved that it was also made out of the ribbon of the dress so it matched perfectly”

And her grooms thoughts?

“He loved it! He did say to me before the day ‘you better not come down the isle in a big dress’ and  I think on the day he was shocked at how normal it was as he knew it would be something different. All my guests loved the dress too. They said it was just perfect for what I wanted and tied in everything”.

“I felt amazing all day, like a princess and couldn’t stop smiling from ear to ear. I was a bride! When we walked from the register office to a lovely bar overlooking Edinburgh people would stop in the street and take our picture it was a  very surreal experience and I was so happy to be wearing the dress I did!”

Natalie says that the wedding was “more than I could have wished for, everything was so perfect! I have very expensive tastes and always seem to want the best in everything so having a small intimate wedding of 30 guest allowed me to do this! We had the best of everything, invites, flowers, cake, drink, favours, if we had gone big we would have had to comprise in a lot of areas but keeping it small made it perfect”. 

Of course, I had to ask Natalie about the most memorable parts of her day, she said there were 2: “I loved sitting around in the morning with my bridesmaids and mum eating breakfast, getting ready and just chatting about what lay ahead of us it was such a great time to share with your best friends and it’s a memory I will treasure. Then the favourite memory, which included the groom, would be exchanging the vows as I never expected it to be so emotional. We chose vows that really expressed what we thought marriage is about and letting each other grow, it was a struggle to even get through them with all the tears!”

For the 1st dance, Natalie & Antony danced to “Praise You” by Fat Boy Slim! Natalie says: “Over the past 7 years we have grown up together when we could have grown apart, but we grew together. Over the past 3 years we have bought our first house, adopted two dogs. I graduated from university and found a job and then last year my husband got made redundant. He found a new job in which it is such a hard climate too, but the song reflects that we have stuck together thought not just the good times but also the hard times when the going got tough we get our heads down and hope for the best. 

This song hits a nerve, we should all celebrate the relationship we are in because our partners are amazing people and as a couple we are amazing too and can tackle anything the world throws at us but sometimes we get too busy and don’t think about how amazing we are and what we have achieved”

Natalie gives all the brides out there some words of wisdom… “Take a time out during the day, it just flies by so just that half and hour with your groom to sit down and reflect is a gift Also don’t get too drunk! I cant tell you how nice it was to sit in bed at the end of the night with my husband reading through all the cards and presents we got. I couldn’t imagine going to bed drunk on such a special day”. 

And finally, her such kind feedback to The White Room… “Throughout the whole wedding planning process, I found you where among a small minority who knew how to run a businesses properly. You where efficient, super quick at replying to e-mails I always remember when I found my dress I e-mailed all the stockist who had Claire in their shop and you were the first to reply at some stupid hour on a Monday night. Most importantly you never made me feel like I was inferior because I wasn’t the ‘norm’ body shape or size. You are so friendly and nothing like any of the other wedding dress shops I had been to!

What I loved most about your boutique was how friendly and personal it felt, it was like walking into my best friends house I felt instantly at ease and I knew I was in safe hands you where aways there giving honest advice and making sure I was happy.
Everyone loved my dress and headband it was just so perfect! I wish you all the success for the future and would recommend you to anyone in a heartbeat. It was such an amazing day and everything I could have wished for and more”.

I’d love to wish Natalie & Antony the most wonderful wedded life together and want to thank her for becoming a White Room bride. She was a dream to dress, work with and be around and I love how she did her wedding, her way! Congratulations!

Big thanks also to Kevin Simm at Cookie Tree for the fab imagery too!  http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/cookietreephotography

Published by

whiteroombridal

A beautiful bridal boutique in the heart of Sheffield city centre. Styling brides since July 2011. Award winning boutique with designers including Suzanne Neville, Sassi Holford, Halfpenny London and Rosa Clara. Accessories by Debbie Carlisle and shoes by Rainbow Club. Bridesmaid gowns by Ghost and underwear and nightwear from a range of UK and international suppliers including Wonderbra 0114 2722336 www.whiteroombridal.co.uk

One thought on “Natalie, Larissa and Tiger Lily

  1. Hi,
    Congratulations on your beautiful wedding. I was wondering if you are considering selling your dress? I love Larissa but can’t find it new in stock. If you are planning on a sale let me know.

    Best wishes x

Leave a Reply

